Reunited and it Feels So Good

by Shane Kalminski

Ann and I go way back. When my best friend Maggie moved to Chicago for college, her and Ann joined the same group of friends. I would take the megabus from Ann Arbor over the weekends and run around town with their motley crew of artists and free-spirits. Back in Michigan, their bohemian lifestyle might have been considered different, but here in the city, they were the cool kids and I felt glamorous hanging out with them.

below | Ann and I being cute ca. 06/07. We were 18.

Image

As years passed and we grew up, Ann and I lost touch.

I heard through the grapevine that she found success as a designer and that came as no surprise to me. At the time, I had no idea that months later I would find myself reconnecting with her… this time as colleagues.

Now that we work together, however, it’s been interesting to see her in the zone.

When I separated my image of the 18 year old Ann I knew, I discovered that while some of the old quirks remain, this grown up version of her is a confident, successful and passionate woman.

Her professional reputation has earned her the title of lead designer at BoConcept and it’s evident by her loyal clients that people rely on her judgment for all of their design choices. While Ann and I have shared many fun memories from our youth, the best is yet to come and I’m so honored to be a part of this team and working with not only with one of the most talented people I know, but with someone I can call my friend.

I’m proud to introduce you to Ann Border.

Image

Ann Border

Lead Designer

Hometown: Prophetstown, IL… pop. 2,000.

Education: BFA in Interior Design from The Illinois Institute of Art Chicago.

Conceptual and adaptive, Ann Border is able to gauge her design direction to capture the mood of the space and those living in it. Her style is across the board, ranging from cute and feminine to dark and mysterious with the only constant being subtle nods to Harajuku.

Having grown up in a small town, Ann moved to Chicago for college and found a home and family here. A cat enthusiast who finds humor in nineties pop culture references and is never without her espresso, she’s a hip city girl whose love of obscure fashion and labels transcend into her work. In her hands, your space is sure to feel stylish, sleek and vogue.

Completely limitless and inspired by many different cultures, lifestyles and trends, Ann is truly an original whose unparalleled style can’t be found anywhere but BoConcept Chicago.

If you’d like to schedule a design appointment, contact Ann directly at ann@boconcept-chicago.com or 1.773.388.2900.

Thank you for reading and here’s to the future, Ann! Reunited!

Image

One thought on “Reunited and it Feels So Good

Leave a Reply

